Wake Up Part 2 – Apathy

My life moves in seasons. Some are good, some are bad, and some are right in the middle. When I’m walking through a difficult season, I find comfort in knowing that difficult seasons often give way to beautiful seasons. Frequently, however, beautiful seasons give way to apathetic seasons. Why is that? I understand why hard seasons lead to wonderful seasons, but why do wonderful seasons lead to seasons of indifference? Maybe it comes down to my dependence on God. In the challenging seasons I turn to God because I recognize my desperate need for him. In the good seasons, however, I don’t ever feel the same need for him. Even though it shouldn’t be this way, my dependence on God is based on my perceived need for him.

I always need God, whether I feel like I need him or not. Apathy stems from feeling like I don’t need God. While the hard seasons of life are, well, hard, the apathetic seasons of life are a far scarier place to be.

Although apathetic seasons are scary, needing God is also scary. Depending on God means my life is no longer in my hands (as if it ever was in the first place.) As humans we desire control. We want to be in charge of ourselves, and we want a say in where our lives are heading, but that attitude doesn’t allow us to press into trusting God.

Where’s the hope in all of this? If apathy is scary and needing God is scary, where’s the good news?

The good news lies in a simple truth. God is trustworthy. No matter how frightening it is to trust him, trusting him is always worth it. “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11) God has never broken a promise, and his desire is for us to thrive.

What would happen if we chose to trust God? How would our lives look different? I think we would all be living better stories than the ones we’re currently living. His plans are better than anything we could orchestrate on our own. But in order to trust God, we must be willing to feel. Are we ready to feel again?

Come back tomorrow for Part 3!

Leave a Reply

