Mountains


MountaintopMy family is in the midst of a process, and we’ve hit a point where the entire situation is out of our control. There are monumental decisions to be made, yet we don’t have the authority to make a single one. We’ve come to a place where all we can do is pray, but the prayers don’t come easily. They come with wrestling. In order to move forward with peace in my heart, there are two things I must come to terms with.

First, I must have faith that God is capable of moving mountains. In this situation, there are some mighty mountains blocking our way. They seem pretty darn immoveable, but God is in the business of working miracles. On many occasions I have seen him overcome insurmountable obstacles. But although my head knows that God moves mountains, my heart struggles to believe it. Jesus give me faith! “I do believe, but help me overcome my unbelief!” (Mark 9:24 New Living Translation)

Reflection

Secondly, I must trust God’s plan. Although it is important to believe that God has the power to move mountains, I also need to trust that his plan is best, even if the mountains remain firmly in place. This is almost more challenging than believing he will overcome obstacles. It demands a complete surrender of my plans and preconceived notions. By nature, I’m a planner, and letting go is incredibly difficult for me. But his plans are always better than mine.

Earlier I mentioned needing to believe these things to move forward in peace. Philippians 4:7 says, “and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” (New King James Version) I used to view peace that surpasses understanding as peace that is better than anything we know. While I still think that’s true, I have a new perspective on peace that surpasses understanding. It’s having peace, even when I don’t understand. My family needs peace, even though we don’t understand.

Mountain Beauty

One thought on “Mountains

  1. Pingback: Sweetly Broken | Learning To Love Again

Leave a Reply

