Voiceless

God has given me a voice. Not a voice for a voice’s sake, but a voice with a purpose. He’s given me a powerful voice, a strong voice. As I sit here without my physical voice, I realize just how much of a gift my voice is. I also begin to understand what it is to be voiceless.

If you cannot speak, how can you even articulate your basic needs? The voiceless are exploited because they cannot speak for themselves. Other people control what happens to them. Oftentimes the people in control display the nasty side of human nature. They use their power for selfish gain. If I have both a voice and the power of Christ within me, why am I not using it?

He has given me a voice. He wants me to employ it. Proverbs 31:8-9 says, “Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for the rights of all who are destitute. Speak up and judge fairly; defend the rights of the poor and needy.” Am I doing that? Am I singing, writing, and speaking life and truth into hopeless situations and broken people? Or am I letting my voice crack from underuse?

It is humbling to lose my voice. When I can’t sing at worship night, I feel like I need to explain why I’m not singing. My pride is at stake. My voice, however, is not mine. It’s a gift. I have done nothing to deserve it. I can’t earn God’s gifts. But if I want to discover my purpose in this world, I must use God’s gifts. I would never unwrap a birthday present, and immediately put it in the back of my closet. So why do I do that with God’s gifts? It’s time for me to stand up for those who cannot stand up for themselves! I am ready to explore God’s dream for my voice!

He Will Fulfill His Purpose

Leave a Reply

