Gratitude

I awoke this morning to a light dusting of beautiful snow.

993476_10202803138858256_588992223_n

From the moment I opened my eyes I knew the light coming in the window had that special snow hue. I jumped out of bed, and it took all my strength to not throw open the blinds and crank up the Christmas music (my roommate was still asleep.) I felt an invigorating excitement that made me want to dance! The atmosphere was magical, and I felt profound gratitude for the beautiful life I’m living.

How often am I consumed with the negative? Burdens triumph over blessings. I complain more than I celebrate. Distress overpowers delight. So often I let the hard things get me down, but for whatever reason the snow this morning reminded me of something profound: We serve a good God who gives good gifts. I have so much to be thankful for! So today I am making a renewed effort to give thanks for my many blessings.

So without further ado…

I am thankful for the many deep, bellyaching, laugh-till-we-cry moments that I’ve had with my floormates this week.

1238307_10153255481610277_1245277046_nWednesday night we had the entire cafeteria staring at us because we were laughing so hard!

I am thankful for siblings who love me so well.

1457615_263952113754316_2001892689_n

They have a countdown of the amount of time till I come home for Christmas.

I am thankful for Christmas lights.

IMGP0275

They make me so happy!

I am thankful for the opportunity to go to Romania and Moldova in May!

Screen Shot 2012-10-28 at 8_42_15 PM_550x300

More on this to come soon!

I am thankful for good Christmas memories.

DSC_0055

Christmas Caroling!

And above all else, I am thankful for a God who loves me more than I can comprehend!

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

