Aslan

This weekend I went on a spring retreat. It was a fantastic experience, and I came away with so much to ponder. We spent the entire weekend diving into John 15:1-17, the vine and the branches. The theme of the weekend was abiding in God.

Saturday night during worship I received two visions from God. The first was simply an image of Aslan (the lion character from Narnia.) I could feel God telling me, “I love you like Aslan loves Lucy.” Aslan’s love is such a beautiful picture of God’s love. God’s love is fierce, and strong, and protective, and unpredictable. I absolutely love this quote from The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.

Not Safe, But GoodGod’s love is far bigger, and richer, and deeper than anything we can wrap our minds around.

In the second vision I was walking down a path through a forest of white trees, The trees were attacking me, trying to pull me off the path. Suddenly, Aslan was there! For the rest of the vision I alternated between riding on his back and walking beside him. It reminded me that without God, I am nothing. I can’t even take one step without him. I need God! The crazy thing to me is that God is always there. Deuteronomy 31:6 says, “the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Isn’t that incredible!

As I head into this busy, busy week, I am praying that I will not take the presence of God for granted. In him I will abide!

Leave a Reply

