Ali Ali Nepali

11412246_950011461730558_2196881013144858442_n

I feel that I cannot possibly open my eyes wide enough to fully take in this place. It is by far the most foreign (to me) location I’ve ever been. Worshipping on the roof, riding taxis through the organized chaos, feeling the sun’s heat with a stronger intensity, tasting different flavors and textures, and seeing brick walls demolished by the earthquake, everything here is new.

However, these things are a just a sideshow to the work God is doing in me.

The title of this blog means a little little bit of Nepali. It’s what you say to tell a Nepali you don’t have a clue what they’re saying. Beyond just it’s application to the language, it seems very fitting of two major aspects of this trip thus far.

The first aspect of ali ali Nepali is that I feel like I’m getting a little little taste of Nepal. We’ve had some language and culture lessons, tried some of the common foods, (I love daal bhat!) experienced the climate, walked the streets, and met some beautiful Nepali people. At the same time though, I’m humbled to realize that I’ve experienced almost nothing. Some of the missionaries we’ve met have been here for years, and they still feel that they’ve barely begun to understand this place. The truth is that no matter how long I’m here, I will always be a guest in the Nepali culture. At a different point in my life I would’ve found that discouraging, but now I see it as a really good reminder of my place in this culture. Nepalis know Nepal better than I ever will.

The second aspect of ali ali Nepali I am experiencing is that much of what God is teaching me has little to do with Nepal directly. I can confidently say God is doing a full remodel of my heart. He’s teaching me to extend grace to myself, to surrender my expectations and desires to Him, to live my life step by step and day by day, and to pray with faith. At first I felt odd about learning so much about myself, but my teammate Courtney reminded me that maybe this is growth that can only happen here. God has given me an incredible team of women who are hardcore pushing me, loving me well, and speaking light into my life He’s also taken me out of my comfort zone, and that’s where the real growth happens.

So in the midst of the unexpected, I am thankful. God is sovereign, and He knows what is most important for me to learn in this place!

One thought on “Ali Ali Nepali

  1. Amazing Kelly! “He’s teaching me to extend grace to myself, to surrender my expectations and desires to Him, to live my life step by step and day by day, and to pray with faith.” Beautiful. I pray we all remember we are foreigners on this spinning rock and allow God to speak to us in this way. May His Kingdom come in and through you…

Leave a Reply

