Story Short: God of This City

11268037_10204325261313623_221065261382192294_n“You’re the God of this City
You’re the King of these people
You’re the Lord of this nation
You are

11698684_3237116096669_2694069799959150871_n

You’re the Light in this darkness
You’re the Hope to the hopeless
You’re the Peace to the restless
You are

IMGP1396

There is no one like our God
There is no one like our God

IMG_0175

For greater things have yet to come
And greater things are still to be done in this City
Greater thing have yet to come
And greater things are still to be done in this City

11041177_3237115576656_1772279092633746707_n

For greater things have yet to come
And greater things are still to be done in this City
Greater things have yet to come
And greater things are still to be done here”

IMGP1405

{God of This City by Chris Tomlin}

On one of our free evenings in Kathmandu, we met up with the Nepali staff of our organization to have a worship night. We alternated between singing in Nepali, and singing in English. The most impactful moment of the night came when we sang “God of This City” by Chris Tomlin. As we sang it, I realized that we were making a declaration over Kathmandu. As visitors we were proclaiming what we saw – God is at work in Kathmandu! However, the beauty of the moment was deepened by the realization that our Nepali brothers and sisters were singing that God is the God of their city. It was so powerful to be able to confidently sing with our Nepali friends that greater things are yet to come in Kathmandu!

5 thoughts on “Story Short: God of This City

  1. Kelly!! I have been loving your posts as you process your trip and let God continue working in your heart. I know we haven’t been able to connect since you’ve been back, but you were (and continue to be!) on my heart. I love that you mentioned this Chris Tomiln song. The older Hillsong praise “Hosanna” was on my heart for you the entire time you were gone. The bridge stood out, especially.

    Heal my heart and make it clean Open up my eyes to the things unseen Show me how to love like You have loved me Break my heart for what breaks Yours Everything I am for Your kingdom’s cause As I walk from earth into eternity

    Here’s a link to the song in case you don’t know this one. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQGJdTpMUcU

    I am so blessed by your posts and transparency as God gives you glimpses of what He has in store for you. Can’t wait to catch up and hear more! Blessings and love Holly 🙂 Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Beautiful. Truly beautiful! You must have had an amazing time there to be writing so much about Nepal. I just returned from Nepal a few weeks ago, and I agree with your thoughts on this country. Keep sending them in!

Leave a Reply

