“How Rare and Beautiful It Is To Even Exist”

Tonight I’m taking a detour from my typical posting style to bring you a light and fun blog post. Although I have many other potential posts I’d love to share with you, in the midst of discovering new food intolerances and exploring a new direction for my life post-graduation, as well as juggling classes and relationships, I don’t have a lot of brain power left over for writing a deep, thought-provoking post this month. Also, in this season of life (as in so many others), music is providing much needed inspiration and motivation. So, I thought it would be fun to share some of what I’ve been listening to lately. Besides, who doesn’t love new music?

Currently 85% of my time spent listening to music is also spent studying. Sometimes music is the only thing that gets me through the long hours of reading and writing and memorizing and…

So without further ado, here are (in no particular order) my top ten favorite study songs:

  1. The Ash Is In Our Clothes by Sleeping At Last
  2. Hello/Lacrimosa by The Piano Guys
  3. West of the Rockies by Garth Neustadter
  4. Rey’s Theme by John Williams
  5. Intermission by Coeur De Pirate
  6. When Ginny Kissed Harry by Nicholas Hooper
  7. Chord Left by Agnes Obel
  8. Wake Me by Message To Bears
  9. Tundra by Cello Fury
  10. New Day by Philip Wesley

When I’m not doing homework, I often turn to worship music. I’ve found that in this season of uncertainties, I need to be frequently reminded of the stability of God’s character and plans for me.

So here are some worship songs that have been speaking into my life this semester:

  1. To the One, Make Us Ready, and Song of the Lamb by Harvest Bashta
  2. Sinking Deep by Hillsong Young and Free
  3. Here’s My Heart by I Am They
  4. Be Still My Soul by Jason Lavik
  5. Come Away, The Anthem, and In the River by Jesus Culture
  6. When I Am Afraid by Laura Hackett
  7. Tears of the Saints by Leeland
  8. I Knew What I Was Getting Into by Misty Edwards
  9. There May Be Tears by Scott Cunningham Band
  10. Give Me A Song by Will Raegan and United Pursuit

I have also made some random musical discoveries in the past few months that are absolutely worth sharing. (I honestly think I could write an entire blog post on each one because wow, talk about incredible music!)

  1. Sleeping At Last – If you have never listened to Sleeping At Last, stop reading this blog post right now and go listen to them! Incredible, right? I could go on and on and on about why I love Sleeping At Last. Their music gives me chills, and their lyrics are profound. My favorite line comes from the song called Saturn, and is the title of this blog post. You can read about the intentionality put into each song here: http://sleepingatlast.com/blog/ It’s unreal!
  2. Hamilton – This a musical that my friend Rylie introduced me to. It’s about the life of Alexander Hamilton, (cue the history nerd-out session) and not only does it have great music and an incredible storyline, but it also courageously engages issues in our society surrounding gender and race. My favorite songs from the soundtrack are The Schuyler Sisters, Satisfied, and Wait For It.

Finally, there are two random songs I recently discovered that I’ve been listening to multiple times a day. One is called Light Ahead by Surveyor and the other is called Sons and Daughters by Allman Brown and Liz Lawrence.

What have you been listening to lately?

PS: Just in case you didn’t stop reading to listen to Saturn by Sleeping at Last, I’ll just leave this here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SEnkgfe6jTM

Leave a Reply

