Mystery of the Invisible

One of my favorite songs is from a band called Verida and goes as follows:

I can feel, but I can’t touch
The atmosphere of your love
Surrounded by something I know is there
For reasons that I can’t see
What exists is far beyond me
But I will have faith in the unseen

‘Cause I’ve heard the sound of the ancient hymns
I’ve felt the chills of the cool, cool wind
I’ve tasted the sweet before
Been lost in the beautiful
The powerful mystery of the invisible

We’re all living an epic tale
Restoring of those who fell
A breathing cathedral of your heart
And it draws me with every breath
Puts path beneath my step
And I’m haunted by how I’m comfortable

‘Cause I’ve heard the sound of the ancient hymns
I’ve felt the chills of the cool, cool wind
I’ve tasted the sweet before
Been lost in the beautiful
The powerful mystery of the invisible

Have faith, have faith, have faith, my dear
Have faith, have faith, have faith, my dear

I’ve heard the sound of the ancient hymns
I’ve felt the chills of the cool, cool wind
I’ve tasted the sweet before
Been lost in the beautiful
The powerful mystery of the invisible
The powerful mystery of the invisible

To be honest, these lyrics are where I want to be. On my best days I see the beauty in the mystery of the invisible. But unfortunately, most days are not my best days, and I spend an inordinate amount of time living in fear of the unknown.


About a month ago I went on my first backpacking trip in the Mount Hood National Forest to a peak with a lookout, and a supposedly stunning view. And I’m sure the view was stunning, but due to wet and windy weather conditions, this is what we saw instead:

imgp2348

Beautiful in its own right, but not exactly the vista we were hoping for.

And yet, as I sat perched on the ridge, buffeted by water from the sky and unable to see farther than a few hundred feet, I was struck by the realization that, so often in life, the fog is all we can see.

But here’s the crazy part. Just because we couldn’t see the mountain views that this particular lookout is known for doesn’t mean the mountains weren’t out there, beautiful and majestic as always. Which then led me to recognize anew that my inability to see God’s plans for my future doesn’t negate their existence or beauty.

So today I’m making a renewed effort to have faith in the unseen, and take confidence in a God who is faithful, even in the fog.

2 thoughts on “Mystery of the Invisible

Leave a Reply

